Last month, I test rode the Interceptor 650 for 40km.

My previous bike was a BS4 Himalayan which I sold off after four years of ownership. The bike had been reliable and never gave much issues. It has been more than a year without a motorcycle. The itch to buy one had been lingering on my mind since long. I have been riding single cylinder motorcycles all my life and felt it was time to upgrade to a multicylinder engined motorcycle, the only caveat being it shouldn’t dent my savings.

The Interceptor being a 650cc twin is the most affordable multicylinder available in India. The Interceptor is non RE-ish when it comes to refinement, very smooth and close to nil vibrations. The Interceptor 650 with a 270 deg firing order sounds very Triumpish, although the latter has a 360 deg firing cycle, typical Brit. I like the way how the Interceptor is, a simple no frill motorcycle devoid of any complex electronics. The only modern stuff, is the engine, being an OHC as opposed to being a Pushrod and presence of a Slipper Clutch.

Upshifts:
1- 47 Bhp & 52 Nm torque, is more than enough, considering Indian driving conditions.
2- Matured power delivery, excellent in gear acceleration.
3- Super smooth and tractable powertrain.
4- Very minimal electronics.
5- I could blip and rev match on the Interceptor much more easily than on my Himalayan.
6- Alloy wheels, finally.

Downshifts
1- Ergonomics is a hit or miss, rider foot peg placement not the best, the pillion foot peg placement is a disaster.
2- The Interceptor is notoriously known for the infamous wobbling issue, reason being the tyres.
3- Poor Pillion comfort.
4- Not so nicely calibrated fuel gauge.
5- Poor headlights, i prefer the halogens.
6- Road undulations pretty much unsettles the motorcycle.
7- Suspension is too soft for my liking.

While handing over the keys back to the showroom guy, I was having mixed feelings, I wasn’t entirely satisfied as I felt something was missing. I guess i was spoilt by the Himalayan’s riding stance.
Heart says, go for the Interceptor, mind says wait for the new Himalayan 450 and Scrambler 650, for a change have decided to wait.
Over and out for now.